Research Topics

Publications

The U4 Blog

Learning & events

About Us

Webinar

Progress and challenges in the quest for transparency to ensure equity in the Covid-19 vaccine deployment

Online

4 November 2021

After earlier calls for transparency in the global deployment of COVID-19 vaccine, we’ve seen progress: in addition to UNICEF’s COVID-19 Vaccine Dashboard launched in December 2020, the Task Force on COVID-19 Vaccines, Therapeutics, and Diagnostics – launched in June 2021 – houses a central repository with (partial) data on vaccine purchasing and deployment; (some) governments have released (few) contract details; and (select) manufacturers have contributed their designs to technology transfer hubs to facilitate the scale-up of production. But these steps have been small and limited. The overwhelming lack of information on COVID-19 vaccine research and development, manufacturing, contracts, and deployment in the public domain still leads to unpredictable delivery times, wasted doses, high purchasing prices in low- and middle-income countries, and inequitable distribution.

Join the Center for Global Development and the U4 Anti-Corruption Resource Centre for a virtual discussion on the progress and challenges in the transparent deployment of COVID-19 vaccine, building on recent recommendations from U4 on next steps for greater transparency. Speakers will highlight the importance of transparency in the current moment of the COVID-19 crisis, when equitable distribution surpasses supply as the most pressing challenge. The panel will also discuss topics including possible mechanisms of accountability for manufacturers and procurers and how governments and global COVID-19 vaccine procurement mechanisms should balance public and private interests.

When

Thursday, 4 November 2021

11.00–12.00 PM New York
4.00–5.00 PM London
5.00–6.00 PM Copenhagen
6.00–7.00 PM Nairobi
10.00–11.00 PM Jakarta

Presenter

  • Karen Hussmann, Independent Expert and Researcher, U4 Anti-Corruption Resource Centre

Featuring

  • Arne Strand, Director, U4 Anti-Corruption Resource Centre
  • Eduardo Bohórquez, Executive Director, Transparency International Mexico
  • Charles Kenny, Senior Fellow, Center for Global Development

Additional speakers to be announced

Moderator

  • Javier Guzman, Senior Policy Fellow and Director of the Global Health Policy Program, Center for Global Development